Welcome to the 2021 Awards of Excellence

The ASUM Awards of Excellence has long been established to recognise those working beyond their employment duties to benefit the ultrasound profession. These awards provide the opportunity for colleagues and peers to nominate and promote each other, acknowledge outstanding performance for the benefit of the profession and ultimately patient care. These awards also align with the values of ASUM, including the vision and mission.

Vision: Ensuring quality health outcomes when using ultrasound

Mission: Fostering a collaborative multi-disciplinary community of highly competent health professionals who deliver ultrasound excellence

The overarching criteria is designed to recognise those who;

  • Continually ensure quality service and health outcomes when using ultrasound
  • Promote ultrasound excellence
  • Provide leadership
  • Foster collaboration across ultrasound disciplines
  • Consistently demonstrate exceptional performance, significantly above that which might reasonably be expected for their position/grade.
  • Acknowledged by their peers as consistently demonstrating excellence in the field of medical ultrasound
  • Hold a current ASUM members

The Board of Directors acknowledge the outstanding work of those shortlisted in the awards for 2021.

A/Prof Andy GillEducator of the YearNeonatologyKing Edward Memorial Hospital
Dr Carl HenmanSonologist of the YearObstetrics and GynaecologyRiverina Family Medicine
Dr Jan KlimekEducator of the YearNeonatologyWestmead Hospital
Karen DorsettSonographer of the YearRadiologyWagga Wagga Base Hospital
Dr Leanne HartnettEducator of the YearEmergency MedicineFiona Stanley Hospital
Dr Robyn BradyEducator of the YearEmergency MedicineLady Cilentro Childrens Hospital and Lismore Base Hospital
Dr Stephen DunjeyEducator of the YearEmergency MedicineRoyal Perth Hospital
A/Prof Sam OrdeSonologist of the YearCritical CareNepean Hospital
Dr Samantha ThomasSonographer of the YearResearch, Radiology and Obstetrics and GynaecologyPerinatal Imaging Research Group UNSW, Ultrasound Care and PRP radiology
Wendy WackrowSonographer of the YearRadiologyWaikato Hospital