Awards of Excellence

Honours and Awards

At ASUM we realise the importance of people in the industry and have created an Annual Honours and Awards program. Incorporated into the Annual Scientific Meeting achievement and contribution is recognised at the event’s Gala Dinner, the premier function in the industry. The categories are a mix of nomination, election and outright performance and are designed to cover almost everything ultrasound. Nominations are called for mid-year via our newsletter Real Time. Some of the industry’s most reputable experts are recognised in these awards. We trust that you will enjoy reviewing previous award winners.

ASUM Awards of Excellence

Life Member
Brian Starkoff
Honorary member
Tom Bourne

Sonologist of the year
A/Prof James Rippey
Sonographer of the Year
Sue Farnan
DDU Dux 2016
Dr Daniel Devenney
DMU Dux 2015
Beth Nariman
Trainer of the Year
Martin Necas
Best AJUM Article
Yuen and Colleagues “Sonography of diffuse thyroid disease’
Best Poster Presentation
Jacqueline Spurway ‘Normal reference ranges for the intra-amniotic umbilical cord vein diameter, blood flow and peak velocity in a regional NSW population’
Employer of the Year
Ultrasound Training Solutions
Volunteer of the Year
Jo McCann

2015 ASUM Awards

Service to Ultrasound
Dr Chris Wriedt
Dr Geoff Shembri
Dr Monica Pahuja
Dr David Ferrar
Dr Shawn Choong
Service to Ultrasound in Rural Remote Areas
Dr Nayana Parange
Honorary Fellows
Dr Martin Kluckow
Australasian Sonologist of the year
Dr Simon Meagher
Australasian Sonographer of the year
Delwyn Nicholls
Dr Ahmed Al-Amin
Amy Hickin
Service to Ultrasound
Dr Fred Joshua
Tutor/Trainer of the Year
Dr Justin Bowra
Employer of the Year
Sydney Ultrasound for Women
Ultrasound Training Solutions
Award for Humanitarian Service
Dr Sujatha Thomas
Highest CPD Points accumulation of the Year
Stanica Dulovic
AJUM Original Research Award
Dr Friederike Beker
Young Sonographer of the Year
Rebeca Dong
Ultrasound Volunteer of the year
Brian Starkoff
AJUM First Time Author
Ann Carrigan
AJUM Cover Image Award
Brendan Mein
Best Clinical Paper
Dr Darren Lockie
Best ePoster
Dr David Nadebaum

ASUM Awards

ASUM Honours and Awards

ASUM Awards

ASUM Honours and Awards